Scottish Engineering Annual Awards Dinner 2016

The Scottish Engineering Annual Awards Dinner 2016 was hailed as another great success, with over 350 guests attending.

Our Awards Dinner, held in the Marriott Hotel, Glasgow, celebrated the continuing excellence in manufacturing engineering throughout Scotland.  Bryan Buchan, CEO of Scottish Engineering hosted the event, where the Principal Guest Speaker was Vice Admiral Simon Lister CB OBE FREng.  His keynote speech praised the workforce and operations at the Babcock naval bases at Rosyth and Faslane, as well as support organisations such as BAE Systems and Thales.  He also commented that engineering and manufacturing in Scotland play a key role in the defence and stability of the whole of the UK.

The Winner of this year’s Scottish Engineering Award was: Mitsubishi Electric Air Conditioning Systems (Europe) Ltd based in Livingston.

The company was established in Scotland in 1993 and after the recession in their principal export markets in Europe, they improved their turnover between financial year-ends 2013 and 2015 of 178% and almost doubled their staffing level from 479 to 910.  The factory has been extended by 10,000 square metres to 54,000 square metres.  They have secured the R&D centre for Europe in Scotland and have now established a design and development centre at Livingston – the first outside Japan.


Left to right: John Howie, President of Scottish Engineering; Bryan Buchan, Chief Executive of Scottish Engineering; Rodney Ayre, Operations Manager at Mitsubishi Electric Air-Con Systems; Yoshihiro Sumida, President of Mitsubishi Electric Air-Con Systems; Vice Admiral Simon Lister CB OBE FREng, Royal Navy; Yoshihiro Takahashi, Senior Business Development Manager at Mitsubishi Electric Air-Con Systems, and Iain Mawer of Mitsubishi Electric Air-Con Systems.

Rodney Ayre, Yoshihiro Sumida, Yoshihiro Takahashi and Iain Mawer accepted the Award, and you can read more at the foot of front page.

We presented six President’s Awards for Outstanding Achievement, which were given to:

BAE Systems Naval Ships

Bosch Rexroth Ltd

Clyde Bergemann Ltd

Had Fab Ltd

Ingenico UK Limited

Progress Rail Service UK Limited

The Winner of the Scottish Engineering Incorporation of Hammermen of Glasgow Award was given to: Ashley Nicholson of Forth Ports Limited.