Scottish Engineering Awards 2017

Our Annual Awards are presented at the Scottish Engineering Annual Awards Dinner held in Glasgow in May.

The Award is made to the company which, in the opinion of the judges, best fits the criterion, namely:

“A manufacturing engineering supply company working in Scotland, which has made a significant contribution towards raising the standard of the sector and has been shown to be an appropriate standard-bearer for that sector.

The 2017 Scottish Engineering Main Award Winner is: Allied Vehicles.

Six President’s Awards for Outstanding Achievement were given to:

Brand-Rex Ltd

EDF Energy

Guala Closures UK Limited


Smith Anderson Group

Walker Precision Engineering Ltd


Past Winners of The Scottish Engineering Award are:

2016 – Mitsubishi Electric Air-Con Systems (Europe) Ltd

2015 – Spirit AeroSystems (Europe) Ltd

2014 – Honeywell Control Systems Ltd

2013 – Alexander Dennis Ltd

2012 – John Wood Group Plc

2011 – Aggreko Plc, Glasgow

2010 – Clyde Union Pumps, Glasgow

2009 – Howden Group, Renfrew

2008 – Clyde Blowers, East Kilbride

2007 – Alexander Dennis Ltd (ADL), Falkirk

2006 – The Weir Group plc, Scotland

2005 – Bausch & Lomb, Livingston

2004 – Rolls-Royce, East Kilbride


Scottish Engineering/Hammermen Award:

In association with the Incorporation of Hammermen we annually present an award to a young graduate engineer who has led a project that benefited their company and the industry in general. The candidates submit written details of a technological project with which they have been instrumental in formulating and driving. The judges visit the finalists at their workplace where the competing engineers will make a presentation. The prize of £1,000 is accompanied by a prestigious trophy, which is held for one year.

The Winner for 2017 is: Meryl Devlin, Aggreko UK Manufacturing.


Scottish Engineering Safety Award

Member companies are sent an accident reporting form. This form is used by Scottish Engineering to monitor reportable Health and Safety incidents throughout the industry. Safety awards are given to companies who have a lower incidence rate than the industry average as specified by the Health & Safety Executive. The Safety Award also shows that the organisation has not received a prohibition notice or been found guilty under Health and Safety law.  If you wish more information, please contact David Brown, Health, Safety and Systems Manager.

David Brown: